hopping on the metablogging train~

Three of my classmates have blogged about blogging so I thought I’d follow their leads and do the same.  Like others I have struggled with this aspect of the course, mostly because a) I am incredibly shy and b) I have been so burned out on social media from my (undergrad, especially) years of obsessively being on Livejournal, Facebook, Twitter, and tumblr.  Recently because of life and this burnout I have tapered way off in my personal use of the still-relevant ones (that is, everything but Livejournal) and this class challenged me to reverse that.

I didn’t do so well of a job throughout the semester for various reasons (the biggest of which is that I felt way behind as far as understanding the material when compared to my classmates’ insightful and profound blogs).  But oddly enough I feel like I will use this PLN/PWN a whole lot more now that I’ve seen how many of my classmates were in fact having the same issues with the indexing that I was, that I wasn’t as behind as I thought.  I have always enjoyed reading classmates’ blogs even if I felt not as advanced as some who work with metadata in professional settings already, just felt I had nothing valuable to contribute most of the time.

There is no doubt this is a valuable learning tool and I look forward to continue blogging about various LIS topics and recording more of my journey into these learning processes.  Of course Twitter is a “hot” place as far as outreach and I look forward to using it more and more.

2 thoughts on “hopping on the metablogging train~

  1. Same here! I had a hard time getting into the blogging aspect of the course. I enjoyed being a consumer – reading others’ blogs and tweets – but I didn’t really enjoy being a creator.

  2. Pingback: Blogging | It's metadata, y'all

Leave a comment